Trains, Planes, Automobiles

Do we get tee-shirts?

So yesterday was a pretty hilarious day.  I was apparently cast in a new movie about a League of Extraordinarily Brave Women Evil Exes, and I can’t wait to find out what my Super Cool Villain Powers will be.  I am good at petting cats, and advocating for victims of intimate partner violence, preventing suicide, encouraging people to learn from their mistakes, and holding people accountable for the things they say and do.  Knavery most foul, obvs!

So, like the vile miserable cad I am, I painted my nails red, and wore a snug-fitting dress to the Penn Museum and practiced my villain laugh in between performing for 200+ people in a room full of statues with their peens out. I may have run around whispering “Phalloi” a lot, because I am classy, pedantic, and secretly twelve years old.

Meanwhile, yesterday morning was a comedy of errors.  My bus broke down at 6 AM, so I rull quick hoofed it over to the Blue Line to catch it to 30th Street Station.  I got there with plenty of time to spare to catch the Wilmington regional train, only to find out that it was having mechanical problems and was delayed by 35 minutes.  It arrived, we boarded, and got about 200 yards outside of the station annnnndddd… the power goes out.  And we sit.  And we sit.  And we sit.  AND THEN!  Our rescue train breaks down.  Not kidding.  AND THEN! The second rescue train breaks down.  Hanif made a crack that it was like that episode of Futurama, and I snorted, audibly.

Needless to say, I worked from home yesterday.  I got back to the Grand Library of Sarnath (i.e. our library/office) by 9:30, took a bath to warm up and wash off the frustration, and got a good solid day’s work done (and finished my rainbow tulle bustle for the show with plenty of time to spare, thankfully).

It’s midterms for Thomthulhu this week, and I’m so proud of how much butt he kicks.  Today’s his most stressful day, and I’m looking forward to giving him a big hug when he gets home.

Overall, life is pretty grand. I’m ready to sit down with a single table de-duplication project tonight.  I’d like to have that wrapped up by Saturday so I can fix some formulas for another project and then add new shiny things to my technical resume.  A friend has also solicited me to do some art direction work for a website, so I’d like to look at tweaking some templates and color schemes to present the client with a few options.  I might also hit fiverr for an updated logo (I need one for my blog, as well!).  I’m finally, finally finally, back on top of the insane volume I’ve had in Paralegal Land (covertly knocks on nearest wooden item).  I still wish I had more free time; but I’m surrounded by love, optimism, support, and an abundance of tea.

Trains, Planes, Automobiles

Leave a Reply

