Speaking of the Shades and Shadows,

I know you’re reading this.

I know you probably can’t help yourself.  I don’t color my truth any differently than I normally would, for knowing you visit me here; though I’ve done my best to protect your identity, the things you’ve said and done.  I’m not even sure why, anymore, as all the love I once had for you has turned to so much cold ash.

I hope the truth breaks over you like a slow sunrise, as kindly as it can. I hope the day that comes after that dawn is a good one for you, and that you breathe freely, perhaps for the first time in your life.  I hope it doesn’t come at too high a price, and that the people who fall by the wayside in the meantime find the healing, support, and answers they need.  I hope when this happens, you still have people in your life that will gather to take care of you, to catch you after the freefall.  But for any of those things to happen, you will need to look at yourself and your relationships with rigor, honesty, and courage.

But in the meantime, I think you should go.  You’re not doing yourself any favors by comin’ ’round here.  All you will find is a woman far happier, freer, and full of wonder than you ever could have loved.

Speaking of the Shades and Shadows,

Leave a Reply

