A thing I read

So this is from 2005, so I’m late to the party, but goodness I suddenly feel normal, and okay, and like everything will be fine.

And if my children resent having been moons rather than the sun? If they berate me for not having loved them enough? If they call me a bad mother?

I will tell them that I wish for them a love like I have for their father. I will tell them that they are my children, and they deserve both to love and be loved like that. I will tell them to settle for nothing less than what they saw when they looked at me, looking at him.

The full text of this controversial article on motherhood, partnership, sex, love, and marriage is here.  I want to staple it to my own face and yell about how I’m Gonna Be Just Fine, and maybe my one-day perhaps children would be, too.

A thing I read

One thought on “A thing I read

Leave a Reply

