When the Going Gets Feelsy, I Probably Write about Food

I am currently having like way too many feels, so I’m going to talk about making food.  #sensible

As I’ve mentioned before, aligning food choices and preparation with the paleolithic/ancestral template has been a goal in the Sky Warren of R’lyeh.  Last night, instead of preparing for tonight’s session of Jade Regent (#responsible) I set to work in the kitchen and made Bibimbap.  

I really like meal preparation that’s a little involved.  Don’t get me wrong.  On a Monday night when I’m pressed for time and hungry, I’ll bake some eggs with taleggio and call that dinner.  But when I’m stressed or feeling a little fractured, or just need to unwind, I’m more than happy to half-listen to T in the next room watching Young Justice, set up my iPad, and do some real magic in the kitchen with a glass of wine.  Clearly, orderly, well-outlined, exact processes I can execute make me happy.  Having some good knives is a huge help.

Bibimbap is Korean comfort food to the max.  As is typical of traditional Asian cuisine, the focus of the dish is to have a multitude of distinct colors, flavors, textures, and temperatures that cohere together in an aesthetically pleasing way.  It’s also highly adaptable, and you can use whatever you’ve got in the fridge or pantry to fill it out (hey shoestring budget — don’t have bean sprouts?  Use radishes! Have a windfall?  Make it with shrimp or scallops!) I’m actually trying to dream up an Autumnal Flavor bibimbap involving acorn squash, apples, sesame seeds, and parsnips and a cinnamon Sriracha that I think will be really delicious when I finally nail it.  (You’re welcome, world.)  

In any event, after a long and stimulating talk with Amanda about food, I’ve been more mindful about it lately.  I sometimes wonder if my enthusiasm for deliciousness is an imposition for people whose relationship with food is more tense, adversarial, or conflicted.  I wonder if my choice to exclude what a lot of people view as staples (grains, primarily) is an ostentatious display of privilege.  And then she reminds me that we all have our thing that is not simple for us, but is probably simpler for other people (mine is money!).  She reminds me that what we do or don’t want to put in our bodies to nourish ourselves is pretty much nobody’s biz, and like our bodies themselves, Totally Okay and Simultaneously Not Requiring Unsolicited Commentary. 

So.  You know.  What are you doing next week, and can I make you dinner?

 

When the Going Gets Feelsy, I Probably Write about Food

Leave a Reply

